Can we understand global health?

March 12, 2010

I have bee n reading and enjoying Alanna Shaikh’s blog Blood and Milk lately, and and today she has another pithy post up on  Why you can’t understand global health. I agree with her basic premise completely – even with years of nursing, overseas volunteer work and postgraduate study in development I still have no idea of how it is to live in the zero-sum game that is the life of the very poor.

But it got me to thinking about how we can start to learn about it.  I don’t know that experience, but my husband does.  He was born into a poor family in a small, third-world town.  I learn from his experience.  I refer to his expertise often in my work and writing.  And he is not alone.  The world is now so interconnected.  While there are still many living in poverty there are also the lucky ones who escaped.  How can we utilise their experience and expertise?

It also reinforces my belief in the value of the academic work of social scientists, particularly anthropologists.  Too often in health care and development we prioritise technical knowledge and skills. Long term and in depth ethnographic study of communities and their lifestyles, culture and values could add so much to the design of appropriate and effective interventions.  Yet it is rarely done… it doesn’t fit well in the project life-cycle.

So often the voice of the poor themselves is missing from health and development literature.  But itw ill take  time to stop and listen, and a change of mind-set to value the knowledge they have.

3 Responses to “Can we understand global health?”

  1. grandpa Says:

    One thing that stands out to me about this is that we have soooo many very poor people that live in the USA that we are not using the right initiatives to help. Welfare is not a good answer. There has to be methodology to motivate, reward, reinforce, and build instead of handout.
    http:grandpasdiary.wordpress.com

  2. Lizzy Says:

    How did you and your husband meet? It’s a long journey from Honduras to New Zealand.

  3. Sharon Says:

    Grandpa – thanks for commenting. I agree mostly although I think there is a place for welfare, and I also think that structural and institutional causes of poverty need to be addressed or any other methodology for poverty relief will only ever be minimally effective.

    Lizzy – I’ve been asked that before! I have an old post up about that here- http://acupofcoffee.wordpress.com/2007/01/25/a-catracho-in-kiwi-land/. It is a very long journey from Honduras to NZ, both physically and metaphorically, as it is from Honduras to Pakistan!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

