Inspiration

March 23, 2010

Some quotes that are inspiring me as I start the writing journey:

Might it be possible to use other scholarly skills, including the ability to tell a story that both acknowledges imperial power and leaves room for possibility?
-Anna Tsing (Friction, 2005, p267)

What if we were to accept that the goal of theory is not to extend knowledge by confirming what we already know, that the world is a place of economic domination, conflict and oppression? What if we asked theory instead to help us see openings, to enable us to find happiness, to provide a space of freedom and possibility?
-J.K. Gibson-Graham, (A Postcapitalist Politics, 2006 p7)

In a time so widely understood by Hondurans to be one of desperation, it is my hope that they will have full support from one another and from those of us who cannot claim to understand Honduran habitus but who find ourselves struggling against the same agents of violence… it may be unstable but our compassion must not wither.
-Adrienne Pine (Working Hard, Drinking Hard: On Violence and Survival in Honduras, 2008, p203)

3 Responses to “Inspiration”

  1. Marianne Says:

    I especially love the second quote and I’m going to save it for future inspiration!

  2. Sharon Says:

    I love that one too. I have the first to printed out and taped to my computer monitor to inspire me as I write.

    Sadly, Julie Graham, one of the authors of that second quote (J.K. Gibson-Graham was a pen name for Julie Graham and Kathy Gibson) passed away a few days ago.

  3. Kate Says:

    I just came across two quotes by William James that are informing my attitude toward my current work on education in Cuba and Honduras:

    We have to live today by what truth we can get today and be ready tomorrow to cal it falsehood.

    The community stagnates without the impulse of the individual. The impulse of the individual dies away without the sympathy of the community.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

