New Year, New Blog

January 1, 2007

A new blog for a new year. I guess it’s not a terribly original idea but I thought it would be good time to start (again…). For my first post here I thought I would outline some of my goals and the things I want to do in 2007. They are not resolutions- I don’t do new years resolutions- but I am posting these ideas here as motivation for myself and as steps in the journey towards making my ‘castles in the clouds’ into something real.

At the moment the clearest goal my husband and myself have is to return to Latin America. This has been our goal since we married five years ago, but detours to studentland and parenthood have delayed us. We now have more debt than I’d really like to acknowledge, and DH has still to complete his degree (he had to take a break for health reasons) but this year I would love to make some concrete progress towards actually getting there.

To do that I need to give DH the time and space to complete those last few papers, and we need to make and keep a budget… get some debt paid and start saving. So there’s my first “non-resolutions”.

I also have some longer term ideas about what I’d like to do personally and professionally. I’d love to write/ teach/ consult in the areas of health and development. I have already made some progress with this, completing a Masters degree and I have recently started a great job in an organisation whose philosophy fits well with me and who can offer me potentially invaluable experience and training (perhaps I’ll blog more about that at a later date). In the longer term I’d like to get more overseas expereince (here’s where the Latin America idea comes in again!), and I am actually thinking about doing a PhD.

But thats longer term. In 2007 I need to make the most of all the professional development opportunities that I can, read more and perhaps try to write a couple more articles.

I also want to be more community minded and more ethically and environmentally conscious in the way I live. To link in with a community, to live less isolated. To buy ethically and carefully only what I need. To waste less. I’m really not sure how to achieve some of this but at least I need to be more conscious about what I am doing.
My other “non-resolutions” for 2007 are fairly run of the mill. Live healthier, try to eat better and to be more active. Not being resolutions, I have no plans to diet, or start a major exercise program, but I do need to work on this. I don’t think I’ll have much luck with the bigger goals if I can’t do the smaller things.

This blog will hopefully chronicle my progress towards these goals (and any detours, roadblocks and u-turns). It should also provide a forum for me to record other thoughts, ideas and interesting tidbits I come across. Maybe someone will read it. Maybe it will just be my record. Whatever happens I’m looking forward to the journey.

6 Responses to “New Year, New Blog”


  1. […] journey, and it is something that I had considered discussing in my very first post about my “non-resolutions”. At the time I decided it would open up too much of a can of worms and was really deserving of a […]


  2. […] journey, and it is something that I had considered discussing in my very first post about my “non-resolutions”. At the time I decided it would open up too much of a can of worms and was really deserving of a […]


  3. Hi, I have created a website to inspire people/giving people ideas on how to live more environmentally & ethically. It is http://www.goodlivingtips.co.uk. Feedback always appreciated! Good luck in your journey. I draw pictures of my goals for the year on a piece of paper and leave it somewhere I can see it during the year. I find it really inspires me to focus on what is important – something which I find is easily forgotten in the busy-ness of life.


  4. […] I got comments! Thanks Russell Davis for your comment on New Year, New Blog, and cumby and timbob on I went to Church. I’d like to respond properly but won’t be […]

  5. Florian Says:

    Hi,
    I found your blog via google by accident and have to admit that youve a really interesting blog 🙂
    Just saved your feed in my reader, have a nice day 🙂


  6. […] found it interesting to look back at the very first post on this blog (NewYears 2007) and my “non-resolutions”, and to see how far I have come.  And […]


Leave a Reply

