5 things

March 2, 2007

La Gringa has tagged me with a meme- 5 things you don’t know about me.
I have put off replying to this for a while for a couple of reasons. Firstly even though I’ve only been blogging for a couple of months I can’t really think of anything much I want to add to what I’ve already shared about myself. And secondly because I am new to blogging I don’t have a network of bloggers I am comfortable to tag (and I don’t think it would be good netiquette to bounce it straight back to La Gringa now would it!).
But since it is probably a good way of letting people get to know me a bit better I am going to do it. But I won’t be tagging anyone. I hope thats ok, it’s just something I don’t feel comfortable with right now. Of course if you are reading this, have a blog and want to take up the challenge go for it. I’d love to know who you are so leave me a link in the comments section!

So here are 5 completely random and unrelated things you never knew about me until now:

1. I’m short… just 156cm or 5″1. Which may help to explain why I like the internet (I could have been 6″ for all you knew!) and Central America, where I really do just fit right in… and where I can buy clothes that fit!

2. I was runner up to the dux at high school (for Americans, that means I graduated second in my class). That probably officially makes me a nerd, but actually it was completely unexpected. I think I did so well because I was clever in choosing my classes (smaller classes and subjects I was really interested in) rather than actually being particularly bright. Early in the year I dropped Chemistry in favour of History. I came 1st in Classical Studies, 2nd in English, 2nd in History and 3rd in Biology. I didn’t even get 50% in Maths (Statistics).

3. I found out I was pregnant with my daughter (now 20 months) 3 weeks before I was due to travel to Honduras for a three month research trip (for my Master’s thesis). With a scholarship and 2 research grants in my hand (okay, yes I am a nerd), tickets paid and research planned there was no way I was letting that stop me. I had my first bout of morning sickness somewhere in the sky over Texas, and my last nearly three months later in a hotel restaurant bathroom in Tegucigalpa. I whole heartedly do not recommend traveling in developing nations with morning sickness, let alone trying to do research- but I wouldn’t change what I did. It was worth it.

4. As a teenager I really wanted to be a journalist. A high school journalism class quickly cured me of that, and anyway, I am way to quiet and shy to be a hard nosed news journalist. But I would still love to write someday. I still occasionally dream of being a features or travel writer. I don’t think I’m alone in this, I’m sure half the blogosphere are frustrated authors!

5. My sister is getting married in two months and I am going to be a bridesmaid. OK that probably isn’t very interesting to most people, but it is a major part of my life right now. Somehow I have made it into my 30’s and have never been a bridesmaid (I’ve always been out of the country when friends have married). I have three sisters who have all been bridesmaids numerous times- and until now they were all single. The saying “always a bridesmaid, never a bride” used to be the fear in our family but I guess it’s being proved wrong now.

So that’s me. As I said, I’m not going to tag anyone… although if el Catracho want to respond as a way of introducing himself on his new blog, he’s more than welcome!

2 Responses to “5 things”

  1. catracho Says:

    I think I can take the challenge of writing about 5 things

  2. La Gringa Says:

    Hey, I’m 5’1″ also! But I think I already mentioned that somewhere in my blog. I actually feel tall a lot of the time here in Honduras. I’m not surprised that you were a nerd — you sound like a very smart person to me.

    Thank you for responding and I’m sorry I picked on you. I did the same as you. I waited, thinking about whether I would do it or not. I did, but I don’t think I’ll do another one.

    I’m off to read Catracho’s now….


Leave a Reply

