Silver beet- a call for help!

March 6, 2007

One of the things I have been experimenting with over the past few years has been gardening, both as part of the process of living more ethically and purely for my own enjoyment. Last year we were renting a house whose previous occupants had clearly spent a lot of time and energy on the garden. As a result I had no problems growing heaps of things- lettuce, broccoli, cauliflower, spinach, beans, various herbs; and in a conservatory tomatos, peppers and eggplants. I miss that garden (it is about the only thing I miss about that house).
Our new home has a nice flat section but has never had an established garden and it quite exposed. We put a small plot in but apart from a good herb garden by the back door I have not had much luck. Bad weather up until Christmas and probably poorly prepared soil led to the early demise of many seedlings. All I have managed to grow is lettuce, a few scraggly beans, zucchini, some carrots and copious amounts of silver beet (swiss chard).
My problem now is what to do with the silver beet. It’s not exactly a favorite around here but after all the effort to actually make something grow I really don’t want to throw it away. Any ideas? Does anyone have any recipes for silver beet/ swiss chard?

Leave a Reply

