Crummy Church Signs

June 27, 2007

 churchsign.jpg

Julie recently posted about her local “crummy church sign“, and I have been inspired by the sign above to do the same. I drive past this sign (not this one exactly- it was generated by the church sign generator) on our local Baptist Church every day and it is starting to really really bug me.  In fact most of their signs annoy me.  Why is it that many Christians think these kinds of church signs they are clever and witty? The scary thing is that I know they do because know some of them.  I also know “non-Christians” and can assure you the reaction church signs usually get from them is not the one the Christians are after.  It really only makes them look stupid.

Like this one.  I mean really… I made my enemies?

4 Responses to “Crummy Church Signs”

  1. Jen Says:

    Thank you for reminding me! I had forgotten how much I HATED those smug church signs every few feet in St. Louis….

  2. Jen Says:

    Here is one worth saving:

    z.about.com/d/politicalhumor/1/0/M/h/bush_bj.jpg

  3. benjaminady Says:

    God, churches are so unbelievably obnoxious and annoying inside and out, sometimes.

    but they sort of both have and miss the point. I mean we *did* make the enemies. The problem is that we made them by our pathetic fake attempts to love them. So now what? Maybe we should start with just leave your enememies the hell alone or something? Apologize to your enemies for making them, and beg for their forgiveness? Hmmmm…..

  4. Sharon Says:

    Thanks for that one Jen- even here in NZ we understand it! Made me laugh.
    Benjamin, I agree. I’m sure sometimes “Christian” ideas of what “loving” means and the actions that stem from that are the cause of many problems.
    I realised after writing this post (and driving past the sign yet again) that it actually reads “Speak well of your enemies…” not kind. I’m not quite sure whether that’s any better…


Leave a Reply

