Umm… excuses

September 3, 2007

Oh dear.  I’ve just realised it has been nearly 2 weeks since I last posted. It must be time for excuses explanations.

Here’s what I blame:

1.  Decision Time.  I have more or less decided I will start a PhD next year.  This has already meant many hours of emails, phone calls, internet and database searching and reading.  I need to come up with a short outline of what I want to do by Oct 1, and a much longer research proposal some time after that.   I really just want to skip to the part where I can quit work and work on this full time.

2. Life. A very active 2-year old. Work.  My husband’s bad migraines.  It’s hard to be motivated to write when I just want to sit back and chill in those precious few moments.

3.  Facebook.  OK, this is probably what is stealing those precious last few moments from wordpress.  I started out very slowly a couple of months ago but am now officially getting to addict status.  Mini-updates and wall posts are much easier than blog posts (and I get more feedback 😉  ).

So the blog has suffered.  Humble apologies to any actual readers out there.

Despite all this I do actually like my blog so I’m not going to let it go quite yet.  Do keep coming back (or don’t cancel the feed!), I will be posting again.

2 Responses to “Umm… excuses”

  1. benjamin ady Says:

    glad to hear you’re not quitting. I do check here from time to time!

    I don’t like facebook. But i’m glad it’s there, becaue it’s a great alternative to myspace, which is just a really sucky thing altogether.

  2. Sharon Says:

    Thanks Benjamin- it’s nice to know someone is checking in here! I’m still very busy but I’m going to make an effort here.
    I really wasn’t very impressed by facebook initially, it kind of crept up on me over a couple of months as I found some old friends and started playing with silly apps. And no, I never got into myspace at all either- ugly ugly.


Leave a Reply

