All the charity in the world

September 12, 2007

I’m very grateful to all these organizations in the United States, especially the private and religious organizations. I appreciate the food and clothing they send. I thank them sincerely for their willingness to help, and I know they do it with great love. But I’d also like to say that this realationship–where we’re dependent on the goodwill of outsiders–isn’t the kind of relationship we’d like to have…. We’re not going to solve our problem through handouts. Because our problem is a social one. And until we change this system, all the charity in the world won’t take us out of poverty.

– Elvia Alvarado
Don’t Be Afraid Gringo: A Honduran Woman Speaks from the Heart

(HT God’s Politics: Voice of the Day)

3 Responses to “All the charity in the world”

  1. Matthew Says:

    I really enjoyed reading this book. Good quote!

  2. Sharon Says:

    Thanks Matthew for stopping by and commenting. I really enjoyed the book too, and highly recommend it. Unfortunately I lost my copy somewhere between Honduras and New Zealand. I think I’ll have to get another.

  3. La Gringa Says:

    I haven’t read that book yet. I’d like to find a copy. The quote is great and something similar to what I’ve heard from a lot of Hondurans. Most non-Hondurans are too politically correct to say that, which only perpetuates the problems.


Leave a Reply

