The Miniature Earth

December 14, 2007

This one has been around for a while but it is a good one.  It brings me back to reality when I start feeling sorry for myself.

What caught my attention tonight is that if these statistics are correct only 7% of people in the world have a secondary school education.  That puts my PhD plans into perspective.  I feel grateful I have the opportunity, and a little guilty about the resources I will consume in the process.  This dilemma may help explain why I have ended up in development studies.

Speaking of which, the interview today was very scary- 6 academic/ professor-y types with challenging questions, however overall I feel I did ok.  I’m cautiously optomistic but the scholarship is highly compeditive so I’m not holding my breath.  I should know either way before Christmas.

3 Responses to “The Miniature Earth”

  1. benjaminady Says:

    so it’s christmas. did you get it did you get it did you get it?


  2. Hey Sharon, stumbled upon this … hoping you got your scholarship, am also looking for phd funding :). In case you don’t go fo this programme you may wish to check out studying-development.org which is an international directory to various development related courses, many of which also offer funding. Good luck!

  3. Sharon Says:

    Hi Fellow Development Studies Student. Yes I did get the scholarship- see this post. And yes I have recently discovered studying-development.org, looks like it could be a great resource.


Leave a Reply

