Sir Edmund Hillary 1919-2008

January 14, 2008

sir_admand_hilari.jpg“I have enjoyed great satisfaction from my climb of Everest and my trips to the poles. But there is no doubt that my most worthwhile things have been the building of schools and medical clinics. That has given me more satisfaction than a footprint on a mountain.”

I hope New Zealand, Nepal and the world do not forget “Sir Ed’s”  words and remember him the way he wanted to be remembered, by continuing the work of the Himalayan Trust. “For me to kick the bucket and then to know that that work is being continued would be a tremendous satisfaction.”(TVNZ)

Leave a Reply

