Sunday Reader #4

March 7, 2010

A lot has happened since I last posted.  I packed up and left our sweet little house in the citrus orchard in Honduras and traveled to an interesting conference in wintery Savannah, flew back half-way around the world to crash at my parents home for a while, found a new house in Palmerston North and moved in, and started getting my head around my new (part time) position as a conference administrator.  What I haven’t done is get anything much done on my thesis.  Or post anything new on this blog.

Nor have I done much internet reading, and my reader has been a bit ignored.  However here are just a few things that managed to catch my eye in all the busy-ness.

In the midst of the pictures of damage in Chile, Collazo Projects has posted some photos of Chile before the Quake.  This struck a chord with me as I visited Chile (including the quake-sticken area around Concepción) many years ago and have been remembering beauty of the people and the place, and feeling somewhat melancholic about the disaster.

As Chile and Haiti face the long task of recovery, many have been asking Why are there so many natural disasters lately?.  Good intentions are Not Enough has yet another pithy post, this time reminding us of the human factors that make natural events into disasters.

As noted above, I am now trying to get  this PhD comic nicely sums up about where I am now!  I have been following the PhD comics since I began my PhD journey and there were actually several that made me smile this month.  This one also seems appropriate as I veer wildly between my daughter’s 4-year old life and academia:

Now that we are back in New Zealand and getting back into routine, hopefully both the thesis and the blog will get more attention.  Although, with the amount of attention the thesis will need I make no promises about the blog except that I will try… remembering of course that time enjoyed is not time wasted, and despite the scarcity of posts since starting the PhD, I do still enjoy blogging.

3 Responses to “Sunday Reader #4”

  1. laurie Says:

    Citrus orchards are something to be missed. We had ’em growing up near the Gulf Coast in South Louisana. Best wishes on that Ph.D. I stopped at my master’s.

  2. Sharon Says:

    Thanks Laurie. I found leaving Honduras a lot harder than I had anticipated, and although I am loving many things about being home I feel I have left a large part of my heart behind. I guess you probably know that feeling. I’m really wishing it was possible live in two places at the same time!

  3. KikiBe Says:

    Hope you’re settling in nicely. I’m at the phase where I’m really homesick and want to leave my fieldwork country, but I know I will miss it once I’m gone.


Leave a Reply

